Tuesday, May 20, 2008

Yoga terms

Buddhi/cittam: Thought faculty, still within the mind.

Kaivalya: The ultimate state of perfection in Yoga.

Pakriti: The matter-principle, uncaused cause.

Purusha: The supreme self.

Dukkha: Sorrow or basic condition of existence because of the essential nature of the
unrealized man.

Gunas: The qualities of pakriti.

Sattvas: The goodness in matter, that which can be realized only through the knowledge of the
enlightened subject.

Tamas: The opacity, the dark quality of matter, its propensity to destruction.

Raja: The tension, dynamic force behind matter.

Kevala: Life-monad for Jaina and Yoga.

Mahat: The Great One, or what emerges from pakriti.

Mana: The lower mind, the third in the cycle from Mahat.

Yama: Restraint, the fixing of the path, to curb, to bridle.

Niyama: Spiritual discipline.

Asana: Posture.

Pranayama: Controlled breathing.

Pratyahara: Abstraction of the senses.

Dharana: (One-point concentration) or total stillness.

Dhyana: Sustained attention, chan, jhana, or zen; the eightfold path of self- absorption.

Samadhi: Simple and total overtaking of the mind by the cosmic mind.

1 comment:

Katherine Irene said...

Prof Triff...

I have noticed that the first 12 yoga terms you listed are elements of the samkhya metaphysics on which yoga rests.

But since we did not explore this metaphysical system in depth yet,could you point us to a reading source that can explain the system to us? (i.e. The metaphysics' explanation of the creation of the world and how the elements came to be arranged as they are).

If you can include a link or give us a title of an article/book, that would help tremendously!